PIM SelectionThe independent guide to choosing a PIM

Akeneo pricing: packages, add-ons and what drives the cost

Akeneo pricing follows three SaaS packages, Growth, Advanced and Premium, with Advanced and Premium priced on quote and several modules sold as add-ons. The Akeneo Community Edition is free open source software that you host yourself. Final Akeneo cost depends on the package, the add-ons, the activation channels and the implementation work around the licence.

How is Akeneo priced?

Akeneo is priced as three tiered SaaS packages plus add-ons, with a free open source Community Edition alongside. The packages are Growth, Advanced and Premium. Akeneo lists Advanced and Premium as call for a quote, seen on 14 October 2026. The full vendor record sits in the PIM vendor directory.

The packages build on each other:

Package Adds over the previous tier Price (seen 14 October 2026)
Growth Data Architect Agent, composable products, AI description generation and asset extraction Not recorded by PIM Selection
Advanced Collaboration workflows, advanced rights management, channel-ready data governance On quote
Premium PX Insights (1 data source), enterprise governance, Success Package with 24/7 support On quote
Community Edition Self-hosted open source PIM under OSL 3.0 No licence fee

The comparison page shows a starting-at entry for Growth. PIM Selection does not reproduce it until Akeneo confirms it as a list price. The page does not state user counts, SKU limits or locale limits for any package.

What drives Akeneo cost?

Package tier and add-ons drive Akeneo cost more than catalogue size, based on what Akeneo publishes. The comparison table names features by package and add-on, and it lists no SKU or user metrics.

The cost drivers to price are:

  • Package tier: governance features such as collaboration workflows and advanced rights management start at Advanced.
  • Add-ons: Supplier Data Manager, Automated Asset Tagging AI, Shared Catalogs, Digital Showroom AI, the Extension Platform and extra PX Insights sources.
  • Commerce apps: Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Adobe Commerce and Shopify apps are listed as add-ons.
  • Activation channels: each package lists 1 activation channel, so a multi-channel plan needs a written price per extra channel.
  • Support tier: 24/7 support and a strategic CSM come with the Premium Success Package.
  • Volumes: SKUs, users, locales and sandbox environments are not stated on the page, so request them in the quote.

The PIM pricing models guide explains how module-based pricing behaves as needs grow.

What does Akeneo cost beyond the licence?

The licence is the smaller part of an Akeneo budget in most PIMvendors selections. Implementation, integration and data work usually carry more of the five-year cost.

Budget for these items alongside the Akeneo quote:

  1. Implementation partner: configuration, data model design and project management.
  2. Integration: ERP, commerce platform and DAM connections, even where an App Store connector exists.
  3. Data work: cleansing, enrichment and migration from spreadsheets or a legacy PIM.
  4. Internal team: product data owners and IT time during and after the project.
  5. Community Edition run costs: hosting, upgrades and security patching, if you choose the free edition.

In PIMvendors selections, the gap between two Akeneo quotes is often smaller than the gap between two implementation partners. Request fixed-scope partner quotes on the same scenario set, so partner pricing is compared on equal terms.

The PIM cost guide lists ten cost categories with typical patterns. The PIM TCO calculator turns them into a five-year comparison between Akeneo and the Akeneo alternatives on your shortlist.

Which negotiation levers work with Akeneo?

Akeneo's add-on structure gives buyers the most room to negotiate. Each add-on is a separate line, so it can be traded, bundled or priced for later activation.

In PIMvendors negotiations, four levers carry most weight:

  • Bundle at signature: price the add-ons your scenarios need into the first contract, before they become separate upsells.
  • Fixed future prices: agree written prices for add-ons and extra activation channels you plan to switch on in years 2 and 3.
  • Renewal caps: cap annual increases for the full term, including add-ons.
  • AI usage: confirm which AI features are included in the package and which carry extra charges.

Anchor high on the full scope and keep the deeper discount as fallback for the final round. Run the negotiation with two finalists in parallel, so Akeneo prices against a live alternative. The PIM licence negotiation guide sets out the sequence and timing.

What should you ask Akeneo on the sales call?

Arrive with a written list and request every answer in writing as part of the quote. These requests cover the gaps the public comparison page leaves open.

  • Ask for the Growth, Advanced and Premium prices at your SKU count, user count and locale count.
  • Ask for a table mapping every add-on to the packages where it is available, with a price per add-on.
  • Ask for the price of each activation channel beyond the first.
  • Ask for the number of sandbox and staging environments included.
  • Ask for the AI features included in your package and any usage limits or credits.
  • Ask for the support hours and response times in packages below Premium.
  • Ask for the renewal cap and the price protection for add-ons activated later.
  • Ask for data export terms and formats at contract end.
  • Ask for two references of similar size that moved from Community Edition to a paid package, if that is your path.

With Akeneo, price the add-ons your scenarios need on day one, then anchor high on the full scope. Keep the deeper discount as your fallback for the final round.

Stephan SpijkersCo-founder, PIMvendors.com

Want a second pair of eyes on your selection?

PIM Selection is published by PIMvendors.com, which runs scenario-based PIM selections for European manufacturers, distributors and brands. A 30-minute call is enough to see whether that helps.

See PIMvendors selection servicesBook a call with PIMvendors

Frequently asked questions

Does Akeneo publish its prices?

Akeneo publishes its package structure but no list prices for Advanced and Premium, which are marked as call for a quote. The comparison page shows a starting-at entry for Growth, which PIM Selection does not reproduce until Akeneo confirms it as a list price. Request a written quote that names the package, every add-on and the activation channels included.

Is Akeneo Community Edition free?

The Akeneo Community Edition is free open source software under the OSL 3.0 licence, with no licence fee. Running it still costs money: hosting, upgrades, security patching and developer time sit with your team or partner. Compare those run costs with the Growth package over five years before treating the Community Edition as the cheaper route.

Which Akeneo features are sold as add-ons?

The Akeneo comparison table lists Supplier Data Manager, Automated Asset Tagging AI, Shared Catalogs, Digital Showroom AI, commerce apps for Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Adobe Commerce and Shopify, the Extension Platform, extra PX Insights sources and Supplier Data Manager single sign-on as add-ons. Which package each add-on applies to should be confirmed with Akeneo in writing.

What does Akeneo cost beyond the licence?

Beyond the Akeneo licence, buyers pay for an implementation partner, ERP and commerce integration, data migration, data model design, internal team time and training. In the PIMvendors view, these items together usually exceed the licence over five years. The PIM TCO calculator on PIM Selection structures all ten cost categories for a like-for-like comparison.

Sources and method

  1. Akeneo: Compare Packages
  2. Akeneo App Store: connectors

How this page was made: drafted by the PIM Selection editors from the sources listed, checked against the PIMvendors selection method, and signed off by a named expert. Editorial policy.

Cite this page

PIM Selection (2026). Akeneo pricing: packages, add-ons and what drives the cost. PIMvendors.com. https://pimselection.com/vendors/akeneo/pricing/ (version 2026-10-14).